Fourthwall Magazine & The Drama Student – The magazine for careers in the performing arts – actors, drama students, directors, producers, writers, production crew.
Institute of Arts of Barcelona
The American Academy of Dramatic Arts
Tag Cloud has been removed from here


    July 21, 2010
  • 2010 Spotlight Prize winner is Andrew Gower

    It’s one of the most prestigious awards going. The Spotlight Prize showcases some of the most talented young actors and attracts fierce competition.

    2010 Spotlight Prize winner is Andrew Gower
    Andrew Gower and Vivienne Bell

    The annual Spotlight Prize showcase took place yesterday and it was Oxford School of Drama's Andrew Gower who took away the main award.

    Vivienne Bell from the Central School of Speech and Drama won the highly commended award.

    A total of 21 of the most talented acting students from the UK's major drama schools took part in the showcase at the Bloomsbury Ballroom, with judges that included casting directors, actors, actresses and other prominent industry figures.

    Standards were unquestionably high

    Each up and coming actor had just three minutes each to impress the panel. Standards were unquestionably high. The exclusive audience were made up of over 300 leading industry professions.

    The winners were selected by a a prestigious judging panel which included actress Naomi Harris (28 Days Later, Small Island, Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll), winner of Best Actress at the Royal Television Society Awards 2010; Oscar-nominated actress and President of the Conference of Drama Schools Janet Suzman (A Day in the Death of Joe Egg, Nicholas and Alexandra); actor Philip Glenister (Life on Mars, Ashes to Ashes), actor Paul McGann (The Monocled Mutineer, Doctor Who); Nigel Seale, Head of Spotlight; Casting Director Pippa Ailion (The Lion King, Wicked, Billy Elliot); Hannah Miller, Head of Casting at The Royal Shakespeare Company; Casting Director Priscilla John (Mamma Mia!, Brideshead Revisited, Saving Private Ryan) and MD of The Stage Newspaper, Catherine Comerford.

    Past winners of this award have included Albert Finney, Judi Dench, Robert Lindsay, Jim Broadbent, Zoë Wanamaker and Jodie Whittaker.

    Published on July 21, 2010 · Filed under: Articles, Featured, News; Tagged as: , , , , , ,


Leave a Reply